JoSAA Counselling Eligibility Criteria

JoSAA counselling is done after the JEE Main or JEE Advanced Examination, so the basic criteria for JoSAA counselling is to appear in JEE Main or JEE Advanced examinations. The rank allotted in JEE Main will open the gateway to the renowned government institutes like NITs, IIITs, GFTIs. JEE advanced is held for the candidates willing to take admission in IITs. A candidate must secure good marks for their selection in these institutes as the seat would be allotted to only those who are rank holders. There are certain factors which are responsible for getting admission. 

  1. The category of the candidate i.e. whether the candidate belongs to GEN/OBC/SC/ST, etc.
  2. The position of the candidate after the examination
  3. The preferential order chosen by the candidate as per his will.
  4. The seat reservation for the various institutes for different programs with different quotas.

JEE Advanced counselling Eligibility Criteria

  • A candidate should qualify JEE Advanced 2024 for many academic programs offered at IITs.


  • Candidates opting for preparatory courses at IITs must have optimum marks in their class 12th examination

JEE Main counselling Eligibility Criteria

Candidates opting for B. Tech/B.E. must have the following minimum eligibility criteria before going on with JoSAA counselling process

  • A candidate must be a rank holder in JEE Main 2024 paper -1 for B. Tech/B.E. courses at NITs, IIITs or GFTIs.
  • A candidate must have passed class 12th examination with Maths and Physics as compulsory subjects along with Chemistry/Biotechnology/Biology/other technical vocational courses.

Eligibility for Architectural Program

  • A Candidate must be a rank holder in the JEE main paper 2 for Bachelor in Architecture course with subjects like Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics. A candidate can then apply to the institutes like NITs, IIEST, IIITs, and GFTIs
  • A candidate must be rank holder in JEE Main paper 2 for Bachelor in Planning course with Mathematics as compulsory subject for the programs offered at NITs, IIEST, IIITs, and GFTIs 

Categories of 

Category TagFull Forms 
EWSEconomically Weaker Section
GENGeneral (with regards to the category of the candidate
OBC – NCLOther Backward classes – Non Creamy Layer
OCI/PIOOverseas Citizen of India Certificate Holder or Person ofIndian Origin Card Holder
PwDPerson with Disability
SCScheduled Caste
STScheduled Tribe

Different Program – sections were divided into different academic programs having number of seats. The program sections are OPEN, GEN-EWS, OBC-NCL, SC, ST, OPEN-PwD, GEN-EWS-PwD, OBC-NCL-PwD, SC-PwD, and ST-PwD. 

Program sections are mentioned below 

Sections are as shown in the table below:

Program-SectionCategory tag(s) of eligible candidates

Home Quota rules for Admission in NITs

As per the JEE Main reservation criteria there is a reservation of 50% seats reserved under home state quota and 50% is for the candidates coming from other states. “Home State quota” is ONLY for candidates whose Home State, as

determined by the State Code of Eligibility, is same as the state in which

the institute is located.

“Other States Quota” includes all the States and Union Territories EXCEPT

the Home State [or Home Union Territory]. 

The home state quota means that wherein the NIT is located the state would be treated as home state and the candidates belonging to that particular state are eligible for this quota. Other state quota here refers to the state outside the NIT state. NITs are not there in all the Indian states and Union Territories therefore a list of NITs with states is mentioned below in the tabular format as per the convenience of the readers.

S. No.Name Of The College
National Institute of Technology Tiruchirappalli
National Institute of Technology Warangal
National Institute of Technology Calicut
National Institute of Technology Karnataka Surathkal
National Institute of Technology Rourkela
National Institute of Technology Durgapur
National Institute of Technology Hamirpur
National Institute of Technology Kurukshetra
National Institute of Technology Raipur
National Institute of Technology Silchar
National Institute of Foundry and Forge Technology, Ranchi
National Institute of Technology Agartala
National Institute of Technology Delhi
National Institute of Technology Jamshedpur
National Institute of Technology Goa
National Institute of Technology Manipur
National Institute of Technology Meghalaya
National Institute of Technology Patna
National Institute of Technology Puducherry Karaikal
National Institute of Technology Sikkim
National Institute of Technology Srinagar
Motilal Nehru National Institute of Technology Allahabad
Dr B R Ambedkar National Institute of Technology Jalandhar
Sardar Vallabhbhai National Institute of Technology Surat

Eligibility for Different seat quotas at NITs, IIEST and other GFTIs

Name of InstituteEligibility Criteria
All NITs (except NIT Goa and NITSrinagar), IIEST Shibpur, PEC ChandigarhHome State Quota: Candidates whose Home State is same as theState in which the Institute is located
Other State Quota: Other States candidates i.e., candidates whose Home State is different from the State in which the Institute is located
Ghani Khan Choudhary Institute ofEngineering and Technology, Malda, West BengalHome State Quota: Candidates whose Home State is Arunachal  Pradesh, Assam, Nagaland, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Sikkim and Tripura.
Other States Quota: Other State candidates except fromArunachal Pradesh, Assam, Nagaland,Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Sikkim, Tripura and West Bengal
AssamUniversity,Silchar, Birla Institute of Technology,Mesra, ICT-IOC Bhubaneswar Campus and Pondicherry Engineering College,PuducherryCandidates whose Home State is Assamfor Assam University Candidates whose Home State is Jharkhandfor Birla Institute of Technology, Mesra Candidates whose home state is Odisha for ICT-IOC Bhubaneswar Campus Candidates whose Home State is Puducherry for Pondicherry Engineering College
All candidates (including the Home State candidates)
NIT Goa40% for Candidates whose Home State is Goa and vacant seats, if any, from the 10% quota of UTs of Daman & Diu, Dadra & Nagar Haveliand Lakshadweep10% for Candidates whose Home State is UTs of Daman & Diu, Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Lakshadweep
Other States candidates i.e., candidates whose Home State is different from Goa and UTs of Daman & Diu, Dadra & Nagar Haveliand Lakshadweep.
NIT SrinagarA special quota of 5% seats in UGProgramme of NIT Srinagar (J&K) shall be reserved for eligible students of union territory of Ladakh within the overall home state (50%) quota seats of Jammu & Kashmir. Any unfilled seats out of the 5% seats earmarked for students of Ladakh will be filled by the Home State students of Jammu & Kashmir.
Other States candidates i.e., candidates whose Home State is different from UT of Jammu & Kashmir and UT of Ladakh

The seat matrix data must be provided by the participating institutes. The Participating institutes takes into consideration everything about the reservation and other policies applicable to them. JoSAA is not at all responsible for the Seat matrix data.

JoSAA seat matrix

Program-TotalSeat Capacity146982339958416078
Female Supernumerary15345983050
Total (including Female Supernumerary)162322399761466078

JoSAA seat matrix 2020

CategoryTotal SeatsIITsNITsIIITsGFTIs
Total Seats50822160532350656435620

Leave a Comment

For Latest News & Updates About Engineering Admission Via WhatsApp, SMS And E-Mail, Enter Your Details Below

Home Popup